Reviews

Jolly Good - Rating 5/5

Very pleased with our stay at the Rose of York.

Response

Thank you for your kind reviewkind regardsPaula, Dean and team

Reviewer:s | Fri 20th Jul 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Very comfortable - Rating 4/5

The Garden Room was clean and very comfortable, good value for Money. The Breakfast was very nice with a lot of options available.

Response

Thank you for your kind reviewkind regardsPaula, Dean and team

Reviewer:Mrs J L Y | Fri 20th Jul 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Dark Room - Rating 3/5

We did originally book a double room preferably with a view of the river.Unfortunately when we arrived we were booked into a twin room which is not what we wanted.Luckily we were offered a double room but there was no light in the room as a large tree blocking the window and we had to have lights on at all timesThe room was spotlessly clean and a very pretty room.The bed was rather soft and sqeeked a lot.The breakfast was super. The pub overall is an attractive and the garden lovely and sunny.A bit noisy as next to road but does keep the noise out when windows are all shut. I would definitely book again but would ensure the room booked is the room requested. Really good value for money with free parking. No TV's in the room.

Reviewer:Elizabeth L | Tue 17th Jul 2018 | 4 weeks ago


Overnight stay for concert at Twickenham Stadium- Rating 5/5

What a great place to stay. Lovely double room overlooking the Thames and surrounding fields. The rooms don't have tv's but that doesn't bother us, we aren't in the room that much!Nice easy walk along the river into Richmond, probably only takes 10 minutes. Had a chicken burger for lunch which was delicious;breakfast was equally good.We stayed for a concert at Twickenham stadium, which we chose to walk to. Took about 35 minutes on a pretty hot afternoon.

Reviewer:Neil G | Tue 17th Jul 2018 | 4 weeks ago


Super stay- Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night &it was excellent. Very clean &beautiful breakfast.

Reviewer:b | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 1 month ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay at The Rose of York. The owner was so helpful &friendly. We would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:KIBBLE u | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 1 month ago


Weekend Break - Rating 5/5

Cant fault this place Lovely food cheap beer, rooms are large comfortable and very clean. Just a short walk from Richmond along the river. The owners cant do enough to help make your stay perfect. 5*+

Response

HiThank you so much for your lovely review, we hope you come and stay with us again real soon.Kind regardsPaula, Dean and the team

Reviewer:Russel D | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 month ago


Most enjoyable stay. - Rating 4/5

Thanks Dean and Paula for an enjoyable stay,a good four stars for an amazing improvement just what the Rose of York needs.Next time we come i`m certain it will be five stars.Regards Steve and Seija in Finland.

Response

Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you both again.best wishesPaula, Dean and the team

Reviewer:Seija K | Wed 27th Jun 2018 | 1 month ago


Family visit - Rating 5/5

A warm and friendly welcome at a lovely traditional innExcellent food, good accommodation.Lovely atmosphere for this riverside innIt is a firm favourite with my wife and all the familyWelcoming for our little dog as well!

Response

Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again soonbest wishesPaula, Dean and the team

Reviewer:Peter W | Sat 9th Jun 2018 | 2 months ago


Family visit - Rating 5/5

Pet friendly and welcomingexcellent rooms which are clean and well presentedAll the staff are friendly and welcomingthe inn is always clean and the food is excellentThank you for another lovely visit

Reviewer:Peter W | Sat 9th Jun 2018 | 2 months ago


One night stay river view - Rating 3/5

Publicans were very friendly and made us aware they were trying to revitalise the pub. The room itself was cosy and clean, but could really do with air con as the weather was hot and with the window open there is a lot of noise from the road. A television and some bottled water in the room would also be welcome.We enjoyed a good breakfast - cooked to order - at no additional cost. On balance we wouldn’t stay again when for a small amount extra we could stay at one of the neighbouring hotels in more comfort.

Reviewer:Elizabeth W | Sun 20th May 2018 | 2 months ago


One of my favorites - Rating 5/5

Perfect location with amazing view of river close to town.management warm and helpful

Reviewer:Joan M | Wed 25th Apr 2018 | 3 months ago


Rose of York - Rating 4/5

Lovely hotel in a great location in Petersham.Simple but very well appointed rooms.The staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble.Avoid road side rooms but then you get get the view!

Reviewer:Oliver D | Wed 25th Apr 2018 | 3 months ago


Hopefully will be brilliant after make over- Rating 3/5

I found the staff - Landlords excellentLocation is amazingGreat for a stay with Richmond a short walk away and the river view walks right on the doorstepPetersham hotel literally next door - Richmond park a few minutes awayUnfortunately the whole place is tired looking and needs a make over which I believe it is about to haveThe shower I had was non existent and a total waste of time.The bed and matress awfulSteps leading up to the accommodation block are extremely steep so no good for those that are disabled or infirm. Could also be dangerous in the wet / ice / snow which we have had recentlyNo televisions in any of the rooms - apparently John Smiths properties don't have TVs in themIf they complete a refurbishment and upgrade along with far more home comforts which the modern day traveller expects in their rooms I will definitely stay again.I am looking forward to seeing what they decide to do and hopefully looking forward to a future stay as it has so much going for it

Reviewer:Matthew C | Wed 28th Mar 2018 | 4 months ago


The Rose of York - Rating 5/5

The Rose of York is a charming and has slightly old fashioned feel and is all the better for that. I understand that the hotel is due some renovation and redecoration and hope that its qualities will not be destroyed by that. The room I stayed in was cosy and I think a wooden floor will spoil that!

Reviewer:Henry L | Wed 6th Dec 2017 | 8 months ago


Excellent London base - Rating 4/5

Always a friendly welcome at the Rose of York.We have been using this as our London base for many years.It represents excellent value, and is well located a few minutes walk along the riverside (or the 65 bus) from Richmond Station.The fact that there is a car park (included in the price) including a covered garage is a big bonus and the location is easily reached from the M3. Food is excellent value and the staff will always do their best to make your stay as pleasant as possible.Just remember to take your tablet to stream TV to your room (the wi-fi works fine).

Reviewer:Mark M | Thu 9th Nov 2017 | 9 months ago


Good hotel fot a short break - Rating 4/5

Lpvely quiethotel,staff ftiendly and very helpfulrooms well equiped and sparkling clean. No tv may be a drawback fot some,but free wifi available. Would go tjere again if in the area.

Reviewer:Keith N | Mon 9th Oct 2017 | 10 months ago


rose of york stay - Rating 4/5

friendly and helpful staff, food is good for pub food, rooms comfortable though the lack of TV is odd and a TV would improve experience the WFI is reliable and decent speed, excellent parking rare in Richmond.

Reviewer:susan c | Sun 8th Oct 2017 | 10 months ago


Average Stay with good views - Rating 3/5

No television in the room and shower controls unmarked so temp guessed resulting in cold then very hot. Shower head mounting loose so came off and flooded bathroom. Staff friendly and room clean.

Reviewer:Tony L | Thu 28th Sep 2017 | 10 months ago


Excellent value with stunning views over River Thames - Rating 5/5

Very friendly, helpful staff, right from initial call to see if they allowed dogs. Room was clean. Evening meal was from menu with good range of options including veggie and fish. Service quick. Food good and filling. Quiet night even though wedding party staying too. Continental breakfast included was rather limited but could upgrade to full cooked breakfast so not an issue.

Reviewer:| Thu 24th Aug 2017 | 11 months ago


Extra Information

  • Pet Friendly
  • Disabled
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian

General Policy

Our terms are payment in full by card or cash upon arrival at the hotel for the duration of the stay you have booked. Card details provided at the time of booking are only used to secure your reservation;no payment is taken unless in the event of a no-show or cancellation with less than 48 hours notice.
The means to pay by card or cash must be presented at check-in - we accept VISA, Mastercard and Maestro. Unfortunately we do NOT accept American Express or Diners cards. We regret that we are unable to offer credit accounts for corporate guests;payment must still be made on arrival.
A refund will be made for any nights cancelled with at least 48 hours notice. Cancellations made with less than 48 hours notice will incur a charge of one full night\\\'s accommodation fee which will be charged to the credit card used to secure the booking.
Quiet, well trained dogs are welcome to stay at a cost of £5 per night.
Check-in from 2.30pm until 10.30pm and check-out 11am.
Please respect our no-smoking policy throughout the hotel, including out of the windows.
Room images are a representation of our accommodation & Rose of York is at liberty to offer a suitable alternative, or change a booking without prior notice.
BREAKFAST:
Week days 7-10am
Last hot food orders 9.45am
Weekends & Bank holidays 8-10am
Last hot food orders 9.45am
ENJOY A RELAXED STAY!